Whole Wheat Banana Blueberry Muffins – yeah. They’re healthy.

So after the sugar fest that went down here a few days ago with amazing cheerful rainbow cookies, I decided it might be good to bake something healthy. You know, just trying to be smart. Trying.

I also have a ton of ripe deliciously gorgeous baking bananas that were practically asking me to use them.

I have been wanting something quick to grab in the morning for breakfast – something baked – yet something healthy….sooooo I got to work. I decided on a muffin that I could pile some of those bananas into – I was also in the creative mood and decided to just create something. I got out a couple old cookbooks to get ideas for measurements and away I went.

Whole Wheat Banana Blueberry Muffins with ground flax and very little sugar and no oil.

First things first – time to get the mash banana face on…

Mash banana..mash mash banana….ok moving on

Very little brown sugar – 1/4 cup! That is it. I debated on honey..but opted out. Maybe I’ll try that another time.

I was excited to mash bananas first…then I went onto mixing the dry ingredients with very high tech kitchen tools. AKA – a fork.

Mix. Mix. Applesauce. Molasses. Egg. Vanilla. Etc…and combine!

Pop em in the oven…and they’ll probably look like this! 🙂

Discretion – these are tasty little guys – but they taste healthy…which is lovely after a sugar fest 🙂 Here’s the recipe in case you were ever so curious:

Whole Wheat Banana Blueberry Muffins

2 Cups Whole Wheat Flour
1/2 Cup Ground Flax
1/4 Cup Brown Sugar
1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
2 Teaspoons Baking Powder
1/2 Teaspoon Salt
1/2 Teaspoon Cinnamon
1/2 Teaspoon Nutmeg

3 – 4 Deliciously Delectable Ripe Baking Bananas (I used 4 – comes to about just over a cup)
1 Egg
1/2 Cup Unsweetened AppleSauce
3/4 Cup of Milk (I used Skim…but I’m sure whatever kind of milk you like to use will work)
1/4 Cup Molasses
1 Teaspoon Vanilla

1 Cup Fresh or Frozen Blueberries

In one large bowl mix together the dry ingredients. Flour, Flax, Sugar, Baking Soda, Baking Powder, Spices. Once mixed, add one cup of blueberries and set aside.

In second smaller bowl whisk your egg and milk together. Combine Applesauce, vanilla and Molasses. Stir in Deliciously Delectable Ripe Baking Bananas.

Combine wet mixture to your dry ingredients and blueberries. Mix until ingredients are combined – don’t overmix though!!

Place mixture in lightly greased muffin tins (I filled just a little less than half full). I also lightly sprayed with olive oil. ORRR use muffin cups – but I was too cheap to go out and buy some. hehe!

Have your oven preheated to 375 degrees. Bake for approximately 17-18 minutes or until your own high tech kitchen tool (Fork..toothpick..you choose…:D ) comes out clean as a whistle!

By the way – these taste fabulous with some scrumptious nut butter on top!

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Whole Wheat Banana Blueberry Muffins – yeah. They’re healthy.

  1. You have been baking up a storm. I can see the house is full of great aroma’s !!

  2. Those look like they would be a big hit in a coffee shop!

Leave a Reply

