White Chocolate Ginga-shnaps

Anyone who knows me will know that one of my most favorite cookie is the gingersnap.

I like testing different types and so far I have a very favorite.

My favorite is not the one I am posting on today. Maybe I’ll do that another time. BUT! Fear not – the recipe I am about to share pairs perfectly with a hot cup of coffee or tea.

Our summer nights have turned very cool very early, and a hot steamy cup of something is needed at the end of our late august days. Of course it is nice to have something to munch on with that steamy cup of ‘somethin somethin’…and if you ask me…that ‘somethin somethin’ should often be matched with a gingersnap.

Welcome to Gingersnap meets white chocolate.

These were lovely. I’d say I should have baked them about a minute less to make them even better.

WHITE CHOCOLATE GINGERY-SNAPS
adapted a wee bit from http://fortheloveofcooking-recipes.blogspot.com/

1/2 cup of unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup of white sugar (plus some to roll the dough in)
1 tbsp brown sugar
1/4 cup of molasses
1 tbsp canola oil – All I had was olive oil – weird..but it worked fine.
1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon
3/4 tsp ground cloves
1 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp fresh nutmeg, grated
1 large egg
1 3/4 cup of flour
1 1/8 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Cream butter and sugars. Mix in molasses, oil, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, and egg. Mix well.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt. Mix together. Slowly add flour mixture to the wet mixture. Add in white chocolate chips. Dough will be quite sticky.

Roll dough into slightly smaller than tablespoon size balls. Roll each ball in a little white sugar and place on cookie sheet.

or play with your food…

Bake for approximately 10 minutes..and then..

eat a cookie…

and don’t forget your hot cup of ‘somethin-somethin’!!

4 responses to “White Chocolate Ginga-shnaps

  1. Gingersnaps are sooo yummy! I always crave them around christmastime. I love the addition of the white chocolate chips. Yummy! πŸ™‚

  2. Gingersnaps are a weakness for me πŸ™‚ They seem to definitely taste the best though at Christmas – I agree!

  3. Mmm, I love gingersnaps! These are so cute!

  4. Thank you! They were definitely a “cute” size…you know what they say…more ‘cute’ ..less guilt??

Leave a Reply

